Central and Eastern Indonesia Petroleum Summit (CEIPS) 2019


CEIPS (Central and Eastern Indonesia Petroleum Summit) 2019 is a collaborative series of events hosted by SPE Balikpapan Section and IATMI Indonesia Tengah & Timur. It was held on 5-7 December 2019, consisting of 4 sub-programs.

1. Panel Discussion

The series of events began with Inspiring Talk on December 5th. CEIPS 2019 was officially started with Pemukulan Gong during the opening of Panel Discussion.


The event then continued with discussion about “The Resilience of Oil & Gas Industry in the Indonesian Energy Outlook” with Bapak Syaifudin (Chairman of SKK Migas Representative for Kalimantan & Sulawesi) and Bapak John Simamora (Chairman of IATMI and Director of Development at PT Pertamina EP) in the 1st session, and “Bridging the Gap between Business and Technical Leadership” with Ibu Tenny Elfrida (VP of Human Capital Management at PT Pertamina Persero) and Bapak Salis Aprilian (Co-founder and CEO at Digital Energy Asia) in the 2nd session.


2. Student Energy Quest Challenge (SEQC)

SEQC is a competition for University students to solve a specific case study. Representatives from each university was divided by several groups to propose an innovation to solve the case study. They were asked to work together in a team with diverse people which they have not met before. The essay and presentation was all prepared remotely as the participants were coming from different universities across Indonesia.


As a part of the program, company visit was also held to introduce oil and gas real working environment to the participants. The participants took a tour to Pertamina Hulu Mahakam’s Handil Base on December 6th, while the showcase was held the day after on December 7th.


3. Charity Golf


In parallel with SEQC showcase, on December 7th, the charity golf tournament took place in Pertamina Balikpapan Golf Course.


4. Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony

CEIPS was closed with a gala dinner on the night of December 7th,  inviting all the participants from previous 3 sub-programs. The results for SEQC and charity golf was announced on this event.


SPE and IATMI also held an award nomination ceremony for three categories as a token of appreciation for the members that have contributed to SPE and IATMI: Technical Contribution Awards for Young Professional (goes to Mr. Risal Rahman from Pertamina Hulu Mahakam), Technical Contribution Awards for Professional (goes to Mr. Hanif N. Shofan from Pertamina EP Asset 5), and Education and Community Contribution Awards (goes to Mr. Eko Y. Purwanto from Pertamina Hulu Mahakam).

The gala dinner was also thrilled by numerous presents and door prizes.

It’s a wrap! We sincerely send our gratitude to all sponsors, committees, volunteers, and participants for the contribution on CEIPS 2019. See you on our next event!

© 2017 Society of Petroleum Engineers, SPE Balikpapan Section.
The SPE Balikpapan Section is a section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers Limited